2021 New Hanover County Convention

MINUTES

The 2021 annual convention of the New Hanover County Democratic Party was called to order at 10:13 AM by Party Chairman Richard Poole. The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Bandorian Cromartie.

Chairman Poole recognized the following elected officials in attendance: Former Supreme Court Chief Justice Cheri Beasley, County Commissioners Rob Zapple and Jonathan Barfield, City Councilman Clifford Barnett, Former City Councilman Paul Lawler, Sheriff Ed McMahon, Board of Education Member Judy Justice, Board of Elections Member Derrick Miller.

State Party Chair, Dr. Bobbie Richardson, made welcoming remarks, followed by a keynote address by NC Representative Deb Butler.

It was determined that sufficient precincts were represented by attendees to achieve quorum per the NCDP Plan of Organization.

The meeting Agenda and Rules of the Day and Minutes from the 2020 County Convention were approved by the delegates, by acclamation.

Jeremy Wilson was introduced as Parliamentarian.

The following officers of the County Executive Committee were elected by acclamation:

Andre Brown – Chair

Victoria Garcia Velazco - First Vice Chair

Susanne Werner - Second Vice Chair

Bandorian Cromartie - Third Vice Chair

Brenda Fong - Treasurer

April Farr – Secretary

These were nominated by the outgoing officers, and there were no nominations from the floor.

Election of members to the State Executive Committee – Jeremy Wilson chaired this election since Richard Poole is a candidate. (A question arose whether the convention should elect 11 or 12 members to the SEC [in addition to the County Chair]. It was subsequently confirmed that the correct number is 11.) Results are as follows, with those winning seats, six females and five males, in green:

SEC FEMALES	
Sonya Bennetone Patrick	69
Leslie Cohen	64
Veronica McLaurin Brown	63
Jill Hopman	62
Carter Jewell	57
Sheila Johnson	56
Elli Klein	50

SEC MALES	
Richard Poole	77
Clayton Hamerski	68
George Vlasits	68
Dorian Cromartie	66
Herb Harton	59
Tony Barney	43
DeAndre Corniffe	20

By acclamation, all delegates to the county convention and all those who attended the recent precinct organization meetings were elected delegates to next month's annual 7th Congressional District Democratic Party Convention.

Chairman Poole handed over the duties of convention chair to Andre Brown for the remainder of the convention. The next item on the agenda was consideration of three resolutions adopted at a recent precinct annual meeting: "Resolution on Early Childhood Learning," "Resolution on Ending the Cash Bail System," and "Resolution Supporting our Teachers as Public Servants and Heroes." These were all adopted by acclamation and will be forwarded for consideration at the District Convention.

No other business came before the convention.

Announcements: Letter-writing event in support of New Hanover County incarcerated persons, April 17

7th Congressional District Democratic Party Convention, May 22

Summer SEC Meeting, August 7

The convention was adjourned at 1:50 PM